olfactory hues

i’m avoiding my child and husband, quietly frekaing out about not being freaked out by our trip tomorrow. by our, i mean my 3 year old son and me. i’ve made a much bigger deal of this than I needed to, and frankly i’m a bit embarrassed, but there you are. me, sitting in the living room watching good eats and writing. or trying to write.

The lilies my husband got me for mothers day have overwhelmed any other smell in the living room. It’s intoxicatingly musky smell are what I love about them, and I’m so touched husbeast chose to get me flowers. I don’t remember the last time we could afford flowers for me, so I’m extra sad we have to trash them on Wednesday and tonight is the only night i get to enjoy them.

This smell reminds me of the early years in our marriage, when we were DINKS (Double Income, No Kids), and he would buy me flowers almost every month. He said that he wanted to make the ladies that I worked with jealous, and be the best husband at the office. He did well in that regard, all the ladies wanted him to teach a class on how to be good to your woman. All day long at work, checking in patients and taking co-pays, I had that lovely smell right next to my desk.

Leave a comment